Heintzman Leadership Award

Deadline for nominations for 2023 is September 30, 2023

The Heintzman Leadership Award (HLA) is presented annually by the Institute for Citizen-Centred Service (ICCS) to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership within the Canadian public sector in promoting and influencing change in its delivery of citizen-centred service.

Recipients of the award are visionary and innovative senior leaders who have demonstrated throughout their career outstanding and sustained leadership in not only delivering citizen-centred services, but in truly transforming public services. They have led service improvement initiatives in their own organization, jurisdiction and collaborated with partners across Canada to develop and implement integrated and seamless services for Canadians.

This award is named in honour of Ralph Heintzman, the founding co-chair of the Public Sector Service Delivery Council.


Ralph Heintzman was the founder of the Citizen Centred Service Network in 1997, while Vice Principal of the Canadian Centre for Management Development. When he moved to the Treasury Board Secretariat in 1998, he created the Public Sector Service Delivery Council, which he co-chaired until 2002.

It was his vision and commitment that helped the Council to grow as an important new platform for joint inter-governmental research, learning and collaborative action to improve service to Canadians. He was also one of the chief architects behind the design, funding and creation, of the Institute for Citizen-Centred Service. It seems therefore, most appropriate that ICCS name its annual Leadership Award in honour of the person who provided the leadership to bring ICCS to life.

2022 Heintzman Leadership Award Winner

The ICCS is proud to announce Mary Ann Triggs as the 2022 Heintzman Leadership Award winner in recognition of her substantial contribution to the promotion of, and commitment to citizen-centred service delivery in Canada.